Teacher’s day again, a day to remember all my Gurus, I had  already written a post last year in honour  of my teachers who helped me to hone my skills and to be what I am today. Click  here to read more.

Today, I am going to write about yet another wonderful personality,  Ms. Vedavalli who was the class teacher for my son in his early school days . She is a  a brilliant, positive , enthusiastic lady  oozing with energy, warm and kind- hearted with a pleasing smile  on her face.  She really had all the characteristic of a good  teacher.  My son who came from a different State was made to settle down  amongst his classmates through  this wonderful mentor who could instill in such a tiny age the meaning of friendship, bonhomie and  sharing.  She also played a  principal role in removing fear from all the children about teachers and accept them as friends , advisers and  guides to whom they can look upon whenever required.

I still remember,when I went to meet her during one of the   ‘open house routine’, on my questioning her about my son’s performance and  activities in school , she readily replied that we need not have any worry as teacher would take care of every single requirement of the child, inside the school.

She encouraged competitiveness amongst fellow students without fighting each other and to complete their home work in the school itself so that they can be free to play and enjoy after they go home. She was strict but easily approachable and ready to forgive with a pleasant smile. I would say, she has influenced  my son a lot, understood his potential and motivated him and the end result is tremendous. He studied for himself and enjoyed it , he planned his own things and came out with flying colours.

When my son went to meet her after completing his 10th standard after a gap of over 5 years, she readily recognised him . I wish there will be more teachers, a la Ms.Vedavalli who would  exert profound influence on youngsters.   For Ms. Vedavalli teaching was/is  a passion and she worked with a mission and zeal. I don’t think her students will ever forget her.

I thank  this great lady, who taught in  Hindu Senior Secondary School Indira Nagar, Chennai.  I pray for her well being and her family. On the occasion of teacher’s day I am happy to salute her.

Happy Teacher’s day!!!

